top of page

FOLLOW ME:

Donald the Tumor

(Dad edit: Yesterday afternoon, we got a phone call from Sister Hansen, Nathan's mission president's wife. The first thing she said when we answered the phone was something like "Don't worry, he's fine!". She then proceeded to tell us that our son has been diagnosed with a tumor.

She told us that the type of tumor he had was either "Osteoma", or "Osteoblastoma", both of which are benign tumors. Osteoma, we were told, goes away on it's own, often taking 2 to 3 years. during which there is regular pain, enough so that pain killers are needed to keep the pain manageable. Osteoblastoma, we were told, would require surgery, requiring Nathan to return home to get it.

Nathan has another followup appointment in 4 months, when a decision will be made as to whether or not he needs to come home for surgery. This is based in part on the amount of pain Nathan has been feeling, and the effectiveness of taking Aspirin daily in managing that pain, and, I'm sure other information from further diagnosis.

We didn't get to talk to Nathan, but we were told we would hear from him today. Nathan only sent an email to family today. With his permission, I have included parts of it below:)

Today I made a new friend, who only eats pain and pain killers. His name is Donald, my tumor, that walks with me every step. I would be lying if I said this week was not a rollercoaster of emotions, worrying, and lots of prayer. When I first went to the clinic I thought I just had a stress fracture caused by a shin splint. They did an ex-ray and they said. "Tienes bien un infeccion del hueso, o bien un tumor en su pierna." (You either have a bone infection or a tumor in your leg) I was so shocked I didn't really do anything. I kinda laughed and told them to talk to my companion, thinking that they probably don't know what they are doing, even though it is one of the most professional clinics in Bolivia. I went and got an MRI where they could get a better look at what I have. As I was getting the MRI, I realized that if I needed a MRI I was probably pretty bad! I left the MRI really worried and feeling really sick for the chemicals they injected me with. Getting to the office I had a temperature and was super dizzy. I ended up just laying on the floor for a pretty long time. Thank goodness for carpet! I think every possibility went through my head as I laid on the floor. Cancer, amputation, fake legs, but the worst feeling was the thought that I might be sent home. I really felt so much comfort through prayer. I know that if we are worthy the Holy Spirit will always be there to comfort us. After getting over my fever, I felt a lot better. I made a good friend this week with Hno. Doctor Richard Acey, the Area Missionary Medical Consultant. He was mission president in Buenos Aires Argentina. He really just walked me through everything and we just spent a long while just talking about life. Nothing to do with Donald. Don't worry! We have some of the best doctors in the world working on the missionaries. I felt really important.


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page